新生專頁

【聯合探索】縱使是同一座山,每次的風光也截然不同,你的景色,由你探索。

探索世界

聯合書院通識教育課程秉承校訓「明德新民」的精神,致力培養有良好品格、廣博學識、獨立思考和對社會有承擔的學生。課程的設計著重拓展學生的知識層面及好奇心,提高學生服務社會的意識。課程也重視學生的自學能力及作為國際公民的素養,以配合急速轉變的社會的需要。

為了鼓勵學生到外地交流學習,聯合書院於2008年成立了邁進地球村系列, 以配合全球化及多元文化校園的趨勢。學生可獲獎學金資助,參加由書院組織的非本地學習活動。

部份海外交換或交流計劃

北京大學
新加坡南洋理工大學
芬蘭奧倫大學
法國里爾天主教大學

部份語言及文化學習團

英國倫敦政治經學院
英國牛津大學
英國約克大學
美國加州大學柏克萊分校
美國耶魯大學
澳洲悉尼大學
北京清華大學

服務體驗實習計劃

中國大陸
台灣
日本
緬甸

書院自2019起推出社創體驗計劃,透過舉辦不同類型的校內或校外體驗活動,推廣社創的概念。書院期望學生可以累積經驗並發展成轉變為推動者,積極思考及創造一些能夠回應社會需求及有效地解決社會問題的創新方法。

「權智社創及可持續發展獎」前身為「權智創新與創業獎」,經過重新規劃後函蓋社會責任及可持續發展的元素以確立清晰的形象及方向,並正式納入聯合書院社創體驗計劃之內。新的賽制將有利一些社創意念及短期項目的萌芽及實踐,長遠而言以正式營運的企業為目標發展。

書院每年通過書院聚會,設計不同主題、形式及聯絡講者,為同學安排不同的講座,包括: 校友講座、周年研討會、到訪傑出學人講座等等,以拓展同學的知識層面,提升同學的興趣。

探索自己

書院領袖訓練計劃目標在於發掘同學個人潛能,培育他們的領袖才能和品格。此計劃促成了聯合書院領袖訓練學會的成立。

聯合書院獲大學撥款資助推行聯合書院語文改善計劃,提供多種不計學分的語文及文化活動供本院學生參加,加強中英文能力及文化意識。計劃更將於2021-22年度加入其他現代語言及文化活動,讓同學透過不同形式的活動及交流機會,在輕鬆的環境下學習語文及溝通技巧。

書院定期舉辦連串精彩的文化藝術活動,以提高校園文化藝術氣氛及為藝術家注入動力。此外,書院會定期舉辦各項藝術展覽,以及邀請名家擔任駐院藝術家及作家,以工作坊、講座、午餐講座、分享會等形式,促進校園的文藝欣賞及創作。

Webpage for New Students

光聯物語

The UC Spectrum

【You See Adventures】Each view of the same mountain is unique, and you choose your way of looking.

Explore the World

In accordance with the College motto of “Ming De Xin Min”, the General Education Programme emphasizes good personality, intellectual broadening, and critical thinking as well as social responsibility of our students. The programme is designed to broaden the interests of students, arouse their inquisitiveness, and encourage them to serve society. The importance of scholastic skills and competencies of global citizenship are also emphasized to meet the needs of rapid-changing society.

At United College, we offer a wide range of General Education courses. Students can take them according to their own study plan. In order to fulfill the undergraduate degree requirement, students are required to complete 6 units of College GE course during their studies.

To keep pace with globalisation and broaden its students’ international outlook, the comprehensive Globe-Oriented Active Learning Programme was launched in 2008. Supported by a wide range of scholarships and financial awards, students have many opportunities to participate in non-local learning activities organised by the College.

Long-term and Short-term Student Exchanges

Peking University, China
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
University of Oulu, Finland
Universite Catholique de Lille, France

“I am proud and honoured to be a UCian. United College has given me a lot of memorable experiences during my university life. Through joining UC GOAL Programme, I attended the University of London as an exchange student, which allowed me to experience a different study life overseas. UC also provides a scholarship to support my exchange in London. I have met many new friends from all over the world in UC. The fruitful College life brings joy to me every day.”
— HU Zhihan (COMM/Year 3)

Language and Cultural Learning Programmes

The London School of Economics and Political Science, UK
University of Oxford, UK
University of York, UK
University of California, Berkeley, USA
Yale University, USA
The University of Sydney, Australia
Tsinghua University, China

“I am grateful and honoured to have received opportunities to study in multiple cities and countries through UC GOAL programmes in my past four years. My life experience has been enriched, and my horizon broadened. I am now able to be flexible and positive when encountering ups and downs in life. Learning to embrace diversity, is the most valuable lesson I have ever had from all exchange programmes supported by the United College.”
— TAM Kit Ying Cherry (2020/IBBA)

Service-learning Internship Programme

Mainland China
Taiwan
Japan
Myanmar
Uganda

The Social Innovation and Experiential Learning Project (SIEL) was established in 2019-2020 to promote social innovation by engaging students in different forms of experiential learning activities on and off campus co-organised by various Hong Kong social enterprises. Students will be able to accumulate different experiences and become innovators to respond to public needs and resolve social problems creatively and effectively.

 

Details

Group Sense Social Innovation and Sustainable Development Award focuses on social responsibility and sustainable development. It is one of the major events organised by the College Social Innovation and Experiential Learning Project. The competition provides a platform for creative ideas and short-term projects to grow and be executed with funding support, enabling them to evolve into some mature social enterprises.

The College invites different speakers to give talks to College students during College Assemblies every year. These talk series include Alumni Talk, Annual Workshop, Distinguished Visiting Scholar Lecture, etc. It is hoped that the talk series can broaden student interest in diverse areas of knowledge and inspire them to learn and develop their potential.

Explore Yourself

The Leadership Training Scheme aims to develop students’ potentials, to nurture their leadership skills and instill dignity. Additionally, the scheme has played a role in establishing the United College Leadership Training Society.

The Language Improvement Project is funded by the University with the aims to improve students’ Chinese and English languages as well as cultural awareness. The project is extended to support programmes teaching other modern languages and cultures in 2021-22. It provides different platforms for students to improve their language and communication skills in a friendly environment.

Different formats of art and cultural activities are organised by the College to foster art and culture appreciation on campus.  Art courses and exhibitions of paintings, Chinese calligraphy and sculptures are also organised regularly. Renowned artists and writers are invited as Artist-in-Residence or Writer-in-Residence to conduct workshops, lectures, luncheon talks and sharing sessions to enrich art appreciation and creativity atmosphere on campus.