Students
Who are you?
Personal Development Activities

Alumni Talks

Since 2004-2005, the College and the Alumni Association have jointly organised a series of alumni talks for students. Students will be able to learn through sharing with alumni their precious life and work experiences.

Annual Workshop

The Annual Workshop is an annual forum for students and teachers to exchange their views on a particular issue. Speakers from the academic and the community sectors are invited to the Workshop to share their views with the students.

Distinguished Visiting Scholar Lecture

The College invites world-renowned scholars as Distinguished Visiting Scholars each year. The main purpose of the scheme is to provide opportunities for students and staff to listen to lectures by the world's top scholars from various fields or specialties. The invited scholar gives two public lectures and attends informal gatherings organised by students and staff.
Distinguished Visiting Scholar Scheme

Dr Thomas Chen Community Education Programme

With a generous donation from College Trustee Dr Thomas Chen, United College has set up the "Dr Thomas Chen Community Education Fund" to support a variety of community education activities such as night talks, topical seminars, book appreciation gatherings, art and cultural activities, debate trainings, and language activities held at Si Yuan Amenities Centre. The objective is to encourage students’ early appreciation of and participation in community life which can develop into a lifelong habit of active contribution to our society.

Dr Thomas Chen Si Yuan Social Service Programme

To reinforce the College motto on "Xin Min" and nurture students to help those in need, the College has launched a comprehensive social service programme. The programme provides students with various opportunities to engage in social service activities, and encourage them to complete a certain number of hours of social service during their study period.

Group Sense Innovation and Entrepreneurial Project Award

The objective of the Innovation and Entrepreneurial Project Award is to promote the development of innovation potential and entrepreneurial skills amongst United College students. It aims to encourage students to invent and develop innovative ideas or products, and design a business plan to explore opportunities for the commercialisation of related projects. Since 2005, the award has been named the United College Group Sense Innovation and Entrepreneurial Project Award, in recognition of College trustee, Dr Samson Tam's generous support.

Heads of College Lecture Series

The College organises lectures that are named after the seven former College Heads. The objective of the lecture series is to broaden student interest in different areas of knowledge and to strengthen their all-round development.

Language Improvement Project

The Language Improvement Project was introduced in 1995 to improve students' English and Putonghua skills. The Project provides a chance for students to join optional English and Putonghua classes, which are conducted by experienced teachers in the two languages. The project also includes non-local culture and language placements at the University of Edinburgh in the United Kingdom and universities in mainland China, such as Shaanxi Normal University, Xian, which are designed to help students enhance their language proficiencies in native English or Putonghua-speaking environments. The language immersion camps organised as a part of the project can also give students intensive language training through lively tasks and activities.

Website of the Project: http://www.cuhk.edu.hk/uc/UC_LIP/

Leadership Training Scheme

This scheme was introduced in 1999 to nurture students' development of leadership potential and leadership skills. Each year it organises leadership training camps, workshops and social services. The Scheme was further expanded through the establishment of the United College Leadership Training Society in October 2000. The annual leadership training camp and "Adventure-Ship" expedition organised by the Society are major highlights of the Scheme. In Summer 2006, a training camp was held at the Fire Services Training School, which was the first of its kind for university students in Hong Kong.

Lecture Series by Members of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and Members of the Chinese Academy of Engineering

Since 2006-2007, the College has organised a lecture series by Members of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and Members of the Chinese Academy of Engineering. The objective is to arouse student interest in science and engineering subjects.

Lecture Series by Scholarship Recipients

The College has launched the "Lecture Series by Scholarship Recipients" in 2009 and invited various scholarship recipients to share their experience with students, such as recipients of S Leung Postgraduate Scholarship and Rhodes Scholarship, Thomas H C Cheung Prize abnd Dr Thomas T T Chen Scholarships for Study Projects in China.

Mr Fung Sun Kwan Whole Person Development Award Programme

This programme is supported by Mr Fung Sun-kwan, and is designed to encourage students to take active and systematic steps to pursue whole person development through participation and involvement in academic as well as non-formal educational activities. The five core areas include ethical, intellectual, physical, social and aesthetic development.

Website of the Programme: http://www.cuhk.edu.hk/uc/wholeperson

Mr Shum Wai Yau Moral Education Scheme

This programme is sponsored by Mr Shum Choi-sang, Chairman of the College Board of Trustees. As a joint initiative with students, it aims at promoting moral education and enhancing the well-being of students. To echo the College motto "Ming De Xin Min", the Scheme helps equip our students with the ability to emerge as responsible moral beings, ready to contribute to the betterment of society, the nation and the world at large. A student life charter is signed by students to show their commitments to face an array of moral challenges.

Website of the Project: http://www.cuhk.edu.hk/uc/studentcharter/

Programme for Aesthetic Development

A galaxy of art and cultural activities are organised by the College to foster art and culture appreciation on campus and to give impetus to local artists. It includes thematic art and cultural festivals, as well as diverse performance art forms such as dance, music and drama presented in Si Yuan Amphitheatre or other indoor venues. Art courses and exhibitions of paintings, Chinese calligraphy and sculptures are also organised regularly. Renowned artists and writers are invited as Artist-in-Residence or Writer-in-Residence to conduct workshops, lectures, luncheon talks and sharing sessions to promote art appreciation and creativity on campus. Part of the music and art activities on the College campus are organised by the United College affilaited student bodies. These societies have organised many outstanding performances with the assistance of the College and the Student Union, inclduing the annual Singing Contest and various instrument classes.

Shum Choi Sang Mentorship Programme

This programme, jointly organised by the College and the College Alumni Association, was launched in 2000 and renamed the "United College Shum Choi Sang Mentorship Programme" in 2005 to acknowledge the support of Mr Shum Choi-sang, the Chairman of the College Board of Trustees. The Programme was initially planned for upper-year students but was expanded to receive Year 1 students as well in  2007. The main purpose of the programme is to foster a mentoring relations between the UC alumni and its cohort of undergraduate students. Through this mentoring, it is anticipated that students will be able to build up self-confidence, develop good ethics and communication skills, and enhance their knowledge beyond mere book-learning. Since its inception, the programme has received overwhelming support, an overseas section was established in 2003, with students going on exchange programmes paired up with mentors in the countries of their visits.

Website of the Programme: http://www.cuhk.edu.hk/uc/mentorship/

Social Service Award Scheme

The scheme was launched in September 2002 to promote voluntary service for the benefit of the community. The scheme is open to all United College students and assessment is on a yearly basis:

1. A Bronze Prize for 50 or more hours of voluntary service in one year;
2. A Silver Prize for 110 or more hours of voluntary service in two consecutive years;
3. A Gold Prize for 200 or more hours of voluntary service in three consecutive years.

Voluntary service in existing programmes organised by the College is included in the scheme, such as social services undertaken by the United College Rotaract Club and United College Leadership Training Society. This Scheme is supported by the Eva B C Li Memorial Fund.

United College is also a registered organisation under the Volunteer Movement programme of the Social Welfare Department. Participants in the College's Social Service Award Scheme may also obtain an Award of Social Service from the Volunteer Movement programme if they meet the award criteria.

The scheme has been strengthened from 2010-2011 to encourage more committment from students. To encourage participation, every freshmen in September 2010 was provided a Record Book of Volunteer Service. The arrangement will continue in 2011-2012. More awards will be established and presented to students with outstanding performance in the scheme.

United College Internship Scheme

United College, in collaboration with United College Alumni Association, launched the United College Internship Scheme in summer 2011 to provide training opportunities for United College undergraduate students. Internship opportunities will enhance students' understanding to their future career and help them gain practical workplace experience prior to graduation. As a pilot run last summer, internship opportunities were provided to United College law students. More internship opportunities from other industries will be arranged in the coming years.

 

end faq

Students
Who are you?
學生發展活動

 

校友講座

書院於2004-05年度起,與校友會合作舉辦校友講座,目的是讓同學在輕鬆的環境下與校友交流經驗,同時可以學習到更多課本以外的知識。

周年研討會

書院周年研討會通常於下學期初舉行,目的在通過學術座談增進師生之間的思想交流,鼓勵研討學風。研討會每年均設不同主題由應邀出席之學者或知名人士對研討主題作出分析及各抒己見。今年將舉辦「三十周年研討會」。

到訪傑出學人講座

書院定期邀請世界傑出學人蒞臨書院訪問。訪問期間除兩次公開演講外,書院及主辦學系亦會安排各種學術交流及研討活動,訪問學人亦會應邀出席學生茶聚及高桌晚宴等活動,使各同學能對世界傑出學者有更深刻的交流及認識。
到訪傑出學人計劃

陳曾燾博士群育計劃

書院獲校董陳曾燾博士慷慨支持,成立「陳曾燾博士群育基金」,資助書院舉辦各項群育活動,如師生夜話、座談會、好書欣賞、文化藝術活動、演辯訓練、以及各項語文訓練活動等,目的是讓同學透過參與這些課外活動,投入校園的群體生活,明白人際關係及處事之道,進而積極參與社會事務,服務社會。

陳曾燾博士社會服務計劃

為鼓勵同學積極服務社會,恪守「明德新民」的校訓,以深化立人達人的精神,書院推行全面性的社會服務計劃,讓同學在修業期間完成一定時數的社會服務,發展個人潛能,貢獻社會。

權智創新與創業獎

書院自2004-05年度起,舉辦一項創新與創業獎,讓同學透過小組合作方式,把自己的創見及意念,發展成為一項有商業或實業發展價值的計劃。書院相信同學可以在參加比賽的同時,學習創業的技巧和經驗,對將來他們在實際工作環境中的發揮,會有很大的幫助。從2005年起,本計劃蒙校董譚偉豪博士支持。

院長講座系列

書院舉辦以前任書院院長命名的講座系列,目的是表彰前院長對書院的貢獻,及透過不同形式及主題的演講以拓展同學的知識層面。

語文改善計劃

書院於1995年起獲大學撥款資助開展「語文改善計劃」,以增強學生的語文能力。計劃為同學舉行一連串語文改善活動,包括非形式英語及普通話課程、外地文化及語文研習課程、英文及普通話學習營等。課程由經驗豐富之導師執教,包括普通話、英語會話及演講訓練。外地文化及語文研習課程為學生提供在自然的語言環境下,改善語文水平的機會,並了解當地文化及風土人情。書院每年暑期均挑選約四十名同學前往英國蘇格蘭愛丁堡大學學習英語及國內大學如西安陜西師範大學學習普通話。英文及普通話學習營之目的是以活動形式,增加學生學習語文之興趣,增強他們運用英語、普通話的信心。

語文改善計劃網址: http://www.cuhk.edu.hk/uc/UC_LIP/

領袖訓練計劃

書院領袖訓練計劃於1999年創辦。目標在於發掘同學個人潛能,培養他們的領袖才能和品格。計劃內容包括精英領袖訓練營、工作坊及社會服務等多元化的活動。此計劃更促成2000年10月成立聯合書院領袖訓練學會,學會每年舉辦之領袖訓練營及乘風航水上訓練活動,均廣受同學歡迎。2006年夏首度舉辦消防訓練營,蒙消防署及消防訓練學校支持,為全港第一隊參與有關訓練的大學生。

中國科學院及中國工程學院院士講座

書院自2006-07年度起,舉辦「中國科學院及中國工程院院士講座」,以提升同學對科學及工程學的興趣。

獎學金得獎人講座系列

書院自2009年起推出「獎學金得獎人講座系列」,邀請曾獲不同獎學金的聯合校友回到母校與同學分享經驗,包括獲梁鶴年留學獎學金及羅德學人獎學金得獎人等支持。

馮燊均先生全人發展獎勵計劃

本計劃蒙馮燊均先生資助,目標在於鼓勵 同學透過參與及投入學術和非形式教育活動,積極及有系統地安排個人的全面發展。主要發展 範疇包括德、智、體、群、美。

詳情可瀏覽計劃網頁:http://www.cuhk.edu.hk/uc/wholeperson

岑維休先生德育計劃

本計劃蒙書院校董會主席岑才生先生捐助,本著「明德新民」的校訓,與學生共同在校園推動德育活動,培育品格高尚、才德兼備的新一代。學生透過簽署「生活約章」,表達他們勇於面對各種道德挑戰的承諾,並積極地為香港、中國以至全人類服務。

網址: http://www.cuhk.edu.hk/uc/studentcharter/

美育發展計劃

書院於2009年成立美育發展計劃,旨在提高校園文化藝術氣氛。除了主辦專題文化藝術節、安排藝術家於思源廣場及其他場地作舞蹈、音樂及戲劇等外,書院亦會定期舉辦各項藝術展覽,以及邀請名家擔任駐院藝術家及作家,以工作坊、講座、午餐講座、分享會等形式,促進校園的文藝欣賞及創作。

岑才生學長計劃

書院及書院校友會由2000年起合辦「學長計劃」,並於2005年獲 書院 校董會主席岑才生先生捐助,重新命名為「岑才生學長計劃」,並由2007年起把計劃擴展至一年級學生。本計劃旨在透 過為期一年的學長學員配對組合,讓書院校友與在校同學互相交流,分享工作及生活體驗,從而提高在校同學的心智發展、擴闊 他們視野、培養他們的道德意識、改善溝通技巧及增強自信。海外學長計劃由2003年起增設,讓參與海外交流活動的同學亦可以獲得 當地校友學長的輔導及協助。

詳情可瀏覽計劃網頁:http://www.cuhk.edu.hk/uc/mentorship/

社會服務獎勵計劃

書院為鼓勵同學參與社會服務,熱心公益,於2002年9月設立「社會服獎勵計劃」,目的包括:

1. 發揚書院以香港為根,以香港為家的精神;
2. 發展同學的個人潛能,培養同學參加義務工作的興趣;
3. 肯定和獎勵熱心服務社會的同學;及
4. 紀錄同學在校外的義務社會服務活動。

本計劃歡迎所有聯合書院同學參加,每位參加者須於輔導處先行登記,領取一本個人的義務社會服務紀錄冊。凡於1年內服務滿50小時可獲銅獎、連續2年內服務滿110小時可獲銀獎及連續3年服滿200小時可獲金獎。由書院組織之領袖學會義工服務、聯合書院扶輪青年服務團及其他相關團體服務項目,將包括在此計劃的認可服務內。本計劃蒙「李碧恥紀念基金」資助。

聯合書院已在社會福利署統籌的義工運動計劃下登記成為「聯合書院義工隊」。凡參加聯合書院社會服務獎勵計劃的同學若同時符合該計劃的標準,則亦可獲得社署義工運動之嘉許狀。

聯合書院實習計劃

為了讓聯合書院學生獲得更多實習工作的機會,書院與校友會於2011年度首辦「聯合書院實習計劃」,希望同學藉以在畢業前獲取實用的工作經驗,透過計劃認 清未來事業的路向。計劃於本年度暑假試行,為聯合書院法律系學生提供多個實習空缺。計劃將會逐步擴展至其他行業,惠及不同學系的學生。

end faq